This church gave its name to the village, which was originally called Saisimentum. It was not until later that the name “Saint Urcisse” was chosen, when the Church built a place of worship here for the faithful – the farmers living scattered on the surrounding hillsides.
Phonetically, it was close to the Latin name and also paid tribute to a 6th century bishop from Cahors.
Come and immerse yourself in the 3D virtual visit of the church. An unforgettable experience! Launch the visit by clicking on the video Matterport.
The creation of this virtual tour was 100% financed by the Lot-et-Garonne 2022 Citizen’s Participatory Budget.
It was under the abbatiate of Guillaume de Belpech, around 1255, that the attachment to the abbey of Saint-Maurin was confirmed by the bishop of Agen.
Another saint, Martial, is also linked with this church without apparent reason, though according to the departmental archives, in 1605 there was a side altar in the church dedicated to him.
To the side, the door of the “Cagots*” attests to the presence of victims of segregation. This side door allowed them to enter the church, as they were banned from using the main door.
*The Cagots were originally a Pyrenean people, a caste, treated as lepers. They were the victims of horrendous racial discrimination over a period stretching from the 13th to the 19th century.
The 15th century church has a rectangular nave, not vaulted, and with ornamental windows on only one side. It was modified in the last century. The chevet, adorned with a rosette, ends in a bell-tower with two arcaded bays. Close by stands a lovely monolithic cross.