The parish church, Our Lady of Grand Castel (Notre-Dame du Grand Castel), sometimes called Our Lady of the Assumption, was built in 1247 in the parish of Saint Seurin, at the same time as the creation of the bastide of Puymirol.
Come and immerse yourself in the 3D virtual visit of the church. An unforgettable experience! Launch the visit by clicking on the video Matterport.
The creation of this virtual tour was 100% financed by the Lot-et-Garonne 2022 Citizen’s Participatory Budget.
In 1577 it was destroyed by the Huguenots. Of the original church only the Gothic doorway, the bell-tower and the side walls (half the height) survived. Puymirol was then a Protestant stronghold, so it was not until after their departure that the church was rebuilt in 1640 – by the mason Lareberette (see the inscription on the north wall). The interior of the nave was refurbished in 1950.
The church is 25 canes long, 6 canes wide and 8 canes high, which approximates to 56m long, 13.5m wide and 18m high.
In 1927 the porch was designated a Historic Monument; then in 2003 the entire church was included in the designation.
Before the Revolution, religious services were provided by a parish priest and a curate. At his installation, the priest swore allegiance to the King and to the town, which was ruled by consuls.
It was in this church that the deed of transfer of the Agenais to the King of France was signed in 1271, after the death of the Count of Toulouse, who had no heir.
Almost all the notables of the bastide lie beneath the flagstones. Each is placed according to his function or rank; he bought his pew in the church and at the same time his burial spot beneath the floor. In 1700 there were reckoned to be close to 400 of these sepultures.
A distinctive feature: natives of Puymirol who died during the Great War are honoured and listed in a stained-glass window.